Deciphering A Granny Square

Wow! It’s been a LONG time since I’ve shared an update! I’ve been keeping busy with my husband, two kiddos and a pup… and of course, my Etsy shop, so life has been really good!

So, this morning, my friend Tanya from HodgePodge Crochet posted about a square she had seen shared, but wasn’t exactly certain on how to tackle making it. I won’t post that photo here, because I have no idea who it belongs to and I wouldn’t be able to give them proper credit, but if you were following along in her group, you know which square it was. She couldn’t find any details about it, so we didn’t have a lot to go on. Just a pretty rainbow of colours and a different take on the granny! I happened to have a skein of Loops and Threads Impeccable yarn in Grass sitting right beside me, and a Bates J hook and accepted the challenge.

I’m not going to lie – I think I did a pretty good job! I promised everyone who was following along I would type it out, and I apologize for the crude photos that go along with it, but it will probably make life easier if you decide to tackle it yourself!

Materials

J 6mm hook (you can probably use anything, the J is just my go-to for everything)

#4 Worsted Weight (I used Impeccable)

Scissors

Needle for weaving

Gauge

I don’t think gauge is terribly important for this one.

Stitches

ch – chain

dc cluster – 3 dc stitches together in same st

ss – slip stitch

st – stitch

sk2st – skip 2 stitches

Pattern

Row One – Ch 3, 3 dc cluster in 3rd ch from hook, ch 2, 3 dc cluster in same ch. Turn.

Row Two – (ch 2, 2dc) in first dc st, ch 2, (dc cluster in ch 2 space, ch 2, dc cluster in same space), ch 2, sk2st, dc cluster in last st. Turn.

Row Three – (ch 2, 2dc) in first dc st, ch 2, dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2, (dc cluster in ch 2 space, ch 2, dc cluster in same space), ch 2, dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2, sk2st, dc cluster in last st. Turn.

Row Four – ch 2, ss into 1st dc, *dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2*, repeat * * one more time, (dc cluster in ch 2 space, ch 2, dc cluster in same space), ch 2, *dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2*, repeat * * one more time, sk2st, ss in last st. Turn.

Row Five – ss to 1st dc, ch 2, *dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2*, repeat * * one more time, (dc cluster in ch 2 space, ch 2, dc cluster in same space), ch 2, *dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2*, repeat * * one more time, sk2st, ss in last st. Turn.

Row Six – ss to 1st dc, ch 2, *dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2*, repeat * * one more time, ss in next ch 2 space, ch 2, *dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2*, repeat * * one more time, sk2st, ss in last st. Turn.

Row Seven – ss to 1st dc, ch 2, dc cluster in next ch 2 space, ch 2, ss in next ch 2 space, ss to ch 2 space from row 5, ss to next dc, ch 2, dc cluster in ch 2 space, ch 2, ss in last dc, fasten off, weave in ends.

And, that’s it! You’ve (hopefully) made a granny from this! Please let me know if you find anything funky – I did whip this up pretty quickly, and mistakes happen! If you’ve successfully followed along and made a square, please share a picture of it to my blog post share on my page (I’ll update with the link as soon as I’m finished typing this!)

Thanks for checking this out and happy hooking until next time!

Michelle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Deciphering A Granny Square

  1. Pingback: The Instagram Granny Square Adventure: Discovering, Decoding, and Crocheting! – HodgePodge Crochet

Leave a comment