Making Snow Dough!

Grumpers and I have been stuck inside for a few days now because of downright freezing weather! It’s currently -18C, and with the windchill, closer to -25C, which is just a bit warmer than it has been for days now. My little lady has been wanting to play in the snow, so I started scouring for some sort of activity we can do indoors that would be reminiscent of snow, but won’t get us frostbitten.

I came across SNOW DOUGH and hurried to gather the ingredients from my kitchen, bedroom, craft area, and Grumpers toybox.

The recipe came from http://www.growingajeweledrose.com/2013/11/snow-dough-recipe-for-play.html It was very easy, very fun, and kept us entertained until Grumpers heard Max and Ruby come on the tv. She is raring to dig back into our dough though now that it’s over!

So, we’ll start with the ingredients:

Making Snow Dough | From Home Crochet

We used cornstarch, aloe lotion, glitter and peppermint extract to give it a nice clean scent. I just dumped in the cornstarch, sprinkled in some glitter, a few drops of extract and started squirting in lotion. I didn’t measure; just added until it was a good consistency.

Making Snow Dough | From Home Crochet

Once it was mixed up nicely, we got to work playing.

Making Snow Dough | From Home Crochet

The dough molds together nicely, but, like cornstarch and water, the more pressure you put on it, the better it holds shape. Once you let it go though…

Making Snow Dough | From Home Crochet

It starts to “melt” and stretch.

Making Snow Dough | From Home Crochet

Clean up is fairly easy. I put all of our dough in a ziplock bag so that we can use it again. I read in the recipe that you can add more lotion to it as it dries out, so, I’ll give that a try if we run into that problem. I’m certain we’ll be tackling this again today, so I’ve pulled out some cookie cutters in preparation. I found this to be a great sensory activity we both could enjoy!

I’d love to hear how your snow dough adventures go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Snow Dough!

  1. Someday I’ll have all the ingredients handy to do this! 😀 You are so crafty!

  2. Pingback: Worldwide Artist Blog Hop | Keep Calm and Crochet On U.K

Leave a comment